going bananas

I still have not returned to the land of the living. It has been 15 weeks today, with at least 12 of those consisting of a very simple routine. Get up for work, go to work, come home from work, put on yoga pants, hit the couch, go to bed, repeat. Last night, I did force myself to cook dinner, particularly because I could not even consider having cereal for dinner even just one more time. I’ve been told that the sicker you are when you’re pregnant, the better. Well, I am certainly glad for that! If this is what I need to get through to have a healthy baby, I am in this 100%. I just hope you’ll bear with me as I share with you the few things I have the energy to make. Let’s just all hope I get my second wind real soon. 

Simple, comforting and quick has become my mantra these days. There have been no marathon cooking events happening in our kitchen, only short and precise dishes that fill our (growing) bellies. This baked banana dish meets all the criteria. Easy, quick, comforting and completely un-fussy, this breakfast treat will satisfy everyone in your family. Pair it with pancakes or waffles or even over ice cream for dessert after a family dinner to add the feeling of fancy.

This post is part of a series cooked from The Breakfast Book by Marion Cunningham. AimeeClaudieEmily and Natasha have posted their picks from the fruit chapter so be sure to pay them a visit.

baked bananas
adapted from The Breakfast Book by Marion Cunningham
serves 6

Ingredients: 

  • 1/3 (2/3 stick) cup butter, melted
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 6 firm, ripe bananas, peeled
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon or ground ginger

Preparation: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Spread the melted butter and lemon juice over the bottom of a shallow dish that will hold 6 bananas. Stir the butter and lemon together until blended. Put the bananas in the dish and turn them until coated. Put the sugar and cinnamon or ginger in a small bowl and stir with a fork until blended. Sprinkle the sugar mixture evenly over the bananas.
  3. Bake the bananas for 18 to 20 minutes, or until the butter bubbles a little. Turn them over once after 10 minutes of baking. Serve with a little cream or maple syrup.
October 17, 2012. breakfast, fruit, quick and easy.

4 Comments

  1. tokyohamster replied:

    mm i love baked and fried bananas! especially the brazilian ones 🙂 hope you feel better soon!

  2. Sibella at bakingwithsibella.com replied:

    Sounds wonderfully comforting to me! Have a great rest of the week and feeeeeel betterrrrr! 🙂

  3. Joleen Willis replied:

    I can’t believe you’re cooking at all! Looks good though:)

  4. silverscreenings replied:

    These look very fabulous.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

