parsley and pecan pesto

vsco_0-6

Last week I thought I was at the end of my rope. Our little guy just turned four months and had decided that he wouldn’t nap anywhere else but on me or in the car. Being a stay at home mom, I don’t get breaks like normal people do, so the break I get at nap time is highly coveted. That is the time where I get to do normal human things like take a shower, eat a quick meal and maybe squeeze in some dish washing. However, when nap time didn’t happen or it would only happen in my arms, I slowly turned into a zombie and it was all I could do to not guzzle the nearest bottle of wine and call it a night. I told my husband that I was nearing the edge and just one more day of no breaks could shove me right over, so he graciously took the weekend to train our son how to nap in the pack n play. Now, after this glorious Monday filled with three long naps, a fantastic lunch and some time in the pool, I feel like Wonder Woman. In fact, as soon as the babe was down for the night, I danced into the kitchen and I cooked up a very tasty pasta dish using this pesto. This my friends, has been an excellent Monday, one I’d like to repeat many times over. Good thing for wonderful husbands and their freakish ability to power through all the crying.

This pesto is a great way to finish off the herbs in the fridge. I have wasted so much money buying herbs and then leaving most of them to turn into brown sludge in the crisper. It’s the perfect sauce to have on hand since it goes well with just about anything and makes quick work of weekday meals. Spread some on a slice of bread and plop a runny egg on top, toss with some freshly cooked pasta and top with a scoop of lemony ricotta or stir it into a pile of sautéed vegetables. This was my first time making pesto and I’m completely hooked. I just hope you have better luck not eating it straight out of the jar with a large spoon. 

parsley and pecan pesto
makes about 2 cups

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups loosely packed flat leaf parsley leaves
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • juice of two small lemons
  • 2 oz parmesan reggiano, finely grated
  • 1/4 cup pecans
  • 1 serrano pepper
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt

Preparation: 

Place all of the ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. Taste and correct for salt if needed.

August 19, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , . condiment, quick and easy, sauces, vegetarian.

2 Comments

  1. tokyohamster replied:

    Congratulations on making it 4 months! I don’t have kids (yet) myself, but I’ve heard how hard it is so kudos to you for making the effort to make a yummy-looking pesto! 🙂

    • Rachel Logan replied:

      Thank you! It’s definitely getting easier to cook which makes me feel somewhat normal. It’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

